RSS

ZoneAlarm one of the best desktop firewalls

11 Jul

I have used Checkpoint ZoneAlarm several times past 10 year, my experience is that it is easy to setup and maintain. I really don’t like that it does not ask me before it reboots my PC, it happened today, I lost some work and it was annoying because I had written down some good ideas.

It used to be a firewall only in the beginning before Checkpoint bougth it up. Now it is a firewall with antivirus software, it did not find any virus on my disk after scanning the partitions. Today I have a few days left of the subscription of the Extreme Security edition. I have found it to be more demanding on RAM and Processor than Avast. The interface is simple, but sometime confusing when it comes to what to click on, because something look like you can click on- and you can not.

As a complete protection I have to say it is better than the competition when you see what you get compared to price.

The free solutions is really something to look at also. Gives you more security for free. The Free Antivirus + Firewall option does not give you granular control over desktop apps or the advanced firewall, but for a person who has no servers at home or other gadgets which need an udp or tcp port to connect to it is just fine.

The Identity part of the free edition is only for US, and handled by Identity guard.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 11, 2013 in Geek

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
